Back to All Events

Nomadic Press Presents: The Outdoor Amphitheater at the Oakland Book Festival 2016

  • Oakland City Hall 1 Frank H Ogawa Plaza Oakland, CA, 94612 United States (map)

Nomadic Press will serve fierceness during the Oakland Book Festival at the outdoor amphitheater on the steps of Oakland’s City Hall on Sunday, May 22, 2016, from 11-6, with over 105 Bay Area writers each reading three minutes of material alongside seven Bay Area musicians in a lightning-fast, seven-hour marathon reading. 

Frank Ogawa Plaza will be inundated with a cross section of some of Oakland’s finest word and musical artists, and the amazing Oakland Future Trio will be there throughout to keep the crowd moving. Words, tunes, local food and drink, phenomenal panels, and stacks of books for sale? Sounds like a wicked-good Sunday. Church! 

Schedule of Readers (note that if you are reading, your names will be listed in the program as you entered them in the spreadsheet, not as they appear below):

NOTE TO READERS: Please show up AT LEAST 30 minutes prior to your hour-long time slot. Come sooner or stay later if you can to support your fellow community members. 

11:00 AM - 12:00 NOON

Lauren Traetto
Sharon Coleman
Mg Roberts
Cassandra Rockwood-Rice
Joy Elán
Zack Haber
Hollie Hardy
Christine No
Harold Tzn
Lisbeth Coiman
Frederick Speers
Tavia Stewart-Streit
Peter Thomas Bullen
Derrick Carr
Tatyana S Brown

12:00 NOON - 1:00 PM

Arisa White
Alexandra Naughton
Harriet Poznansky
Rohan DaCosta
Kimberly Kim
Cassandra Dallett
Paul Corman-Roberts
Daniel Riddle Rodriguez
Youssef Alaoui
Missy Church
Celeste Chan
Apollo Papafrangou
Tavarez Ricardo
Andrew J. Thomas
Nick Johnson
Phil Lumsden

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Michelle Gonzales
Maw Shein Win
Suzy Huerta
Steven Black
Tomas Moniz
Soma Mei Sheng Frazier
Caleb Zachary Matthews
Jeff Chon
Daphne Gottlieb
Alexandra Kostoulas
Amos White
Rochelle Spencer
Yaccaira Salvatierra
Norma Liliana Valdez
Laura Jew
Cyrus Armajani
Keenan Norris

2:00 PM - 3:00 PM

Rei Jackler
Fernando Meisenhalter
Lisa D. Gray
Tongo Eisen-Martin
Joshua Kent Fowler
Miquila Alejandre 
Tim Donnelly
Aqueila M. Lewis
Vernon Keeve III
Melissa Jones 
Audacious IAM 
Julia Park Tracey
Fisayo Adeyeye
James J. Siegel
Lorenz Mazon Dumuk
Rusty Rebar

3:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Richard Loranger
Isobel O'Hare
Gina Gold
Mk Chavez
Joel Landmine
Alicia Franco 
Lisa Cattrone
Ruby Spies 
Roberto F. Santiago
Lark Omura
Garrett Murphy
Freddy Gutierrez
SoJari Bradley
Marguerite Munoz
Fred Dodsworth

4:00 PM - 5:00 PM

Tureeda Mikell
Trey Amos
Terrilynn Cantlon
Jesse Prado
Julian Shendelman
Shara DeShara 
Ella S-W
William Taylor Jr. 
Ingrid Kier
Nancy Patrice Davenport
Shirley Acuna
Bucky Sinister
Elwin Michael Cotman
Rene Vazquez
Grace Fondow

5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

Nazelah Jamison
Jasmine Wilkerson Sufi
Caleilia Cristian Avery
Abe Becker
Apollo Poetry
C Anne Gardner
G Macias Gusman
Indiana Pehlivanova
Seven Kelle
Oakland Poet Laureate 2016 Finalist
Oakland Poet Laureate 2016 Finalist
Oakland Poet Laureate 2016 Finalist
Oakland Poet Laureate 2016 Finalist
Oakland Poet Laureate 2016 Finalist


IN-HOUSE BAND (all day, 10:15-6): Oakland Future Trio

11:00 - 11:15 AM: JPZ (Hip Hop for Change)
11:55 - 12:05 PM: Lake Lady
12:55 - 1:10 PM: Oakland Youth Chorus (Official page)
2:55 - 3:05 PM: Hip Hop for Change
3:55 - 4:05 PM: Melissa Jones
5:55 - 6:05 PM: Azuah